The Night Watch

089

When I remember You on my bed , I

Meditate on You in the night watches.

Because You have been my help, therefore

In the shadow of Your wings  I will rejoice

My soul follows close behind you; Your right

Hands uphold me

Psalm 63:6-8

Anybody who is fighting any kind of chronic illness knows that your symptoms always seem worse at night. I think that’s when I feel most vulnerable. The pain and the horrible sweats and pressure In my chest build up and I don’t want to wake my husband because he needs his sleep. Who I really should  turn to is the Lord.  But I am embarrassed to say that a lot of times I forget that he is available twenty four  seven ready  and wanting to share any burdens I can’t handle. In the times that I can quiet myself and pray, physically I always feel better when I talk  to the Lord. Somehow he takes the edge off the pain or removes it entirely but the best part is I am never alone when I invite him in to help.

The Night Watch

Where do the minutes go as the night slips toward the dawn

When I am all alone, overwhelmed by what I face, how I’d love to sing a new song

I am calling for You Lord in the midst of this storm

To come and take the night watch so I can be transformed

I talk to you about my heavy load you always understand

You offer me warm comfort as you hold me In your hand

Sheltered by your loving wings, You whisper trust in me

And I will show you how to live in Me, in that you can believe

Don’t worry for your future I firmly hold today

We will take each step together and I will show the way

And somewhere between night and dawn the Lord has rocked me back to sleep

Ready to face a new day because his grace runs so very deep

Leave a Reply

