Disease

Once again I have caught another respiratory flu that has inflamed my lungs. This is the second  winter in a row that a flu virus has taken hold of me despite taking the recommended precautions and flu shots. This time was a little more scary as it took almost two weeks of hospital visits to get me  and my lungs on the road to recovery.  But despite the intense fear that comes with not being able to breathe I also have the support of a great and awesome God that knew how to step in and comfort me and encourage me when I am in a very dark place. He is my faithful Shepherd that always shines His light and leads me home. I thank God that I am one of his sheep and I do hear His voice that comes calling for me.

 

 

Psalm 46:10

Be still and know that I am God:

I will be exalted among the nations

I will be exalted in the earth

 

Exodus 15:13

In your unfailing love you will lead the people you

have redeemed. In your strength you will guide them to your

holy dwelling

 

Disease

In the midst of this chaos I lose sight of You and I am afraid

That the constant pressure to conform to this world, will win the day

That I will have to give up my dreams because of poor health

Disease has come calling, with great cunning and great stealth

My fight is desperate and it takes my breath away, I feel faint

Engulfing heat rushes over me, swallowing up your soul weary saint

I hear my ragged breathing search for a taste of cool clean air

Panic wells up, as the pain punches through, it’s getting harder to bare

And for a minute I forget, I am still struggling for air

Than a whisper is heard, be still and know I am God, I am here

This too will pass  my child ,you have nothing here to fear

Focus on me so I can take away this burden

My love is constant in this you can be certain

Trust my love through the pain and my healing you’ll gain

Know I’ll never leave you and you don’t fight alone

I go before you, I’ll lead you home

No dreams have to be surrendered if your living life through me

For with God nothing is impossible, even chronic disease

 

Leave a Reply

